Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com

Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/)
-   Nose Surgery (Primary & Revision Rhinoplasty) (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/)
-   -   in your opinion: is this okay? (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/805-your-opinion-okay.html)

surfergirly222 10-17-2009 09:52 PM

in your opinion: is this okay?
 
16 in june. i am almost certain i want to get rhinoplasty. i am very mature for my age and i have done my research. do you think this is an appropriate age for rhinoplasty? why or why not? any risks? Thank you for your input!

robyne00 10-18-2009 07:43 AM

According to The John Hopkins website, I attained the following information:

"What age are patients who undergo rhinoplasty?

This procedure is performed on people of all ages, although rarely in children. It is often best to withhold rhinoplasty until facial growth is more advanced, into the teenage years. From this age on, rhinoplasty may be performed at virtually any age."


Personally, I would wait until you're 18. That way all of your tissues have formed and expanded/contracted to their full state. I am a doctor, however, I am NOT a plastic surgeon.

Perhaps other members can provide you with additional info from their own experiences. That is better than anything a website can tell you.

Either way ... good luck!!! :)

surfergirly222 10-18-2009 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robyne00 (Post 2658)
According to The John Hopkins website, I attained the following information:

"What age are patients who undergo rhinoplasty?

This procedure is performed on people of all ages, although rarely in children. It is often best to withhold rhinoplasty until facial growth is more advanced, into the teenage years. From this age on, rhinoplasty may be performed at virtually any age."


Personally, I would wait until you're 18. That way all of your tissues have formed and expanded/contracted to their full state. I am a doctor, however, I am NOT a plastic surgeon.

Perhaps other members can provide you with additional info from their own experiences. That is better than anything a website can tell you.

Either way ... good luck!!! :)

thank you! but no one else seems to be interested in replying :(

la_angel 10-18-2009 01:55 PM

I agree with robyne and I also think you need to figure out your goals/reasons for the surgery to figure out if it makes sense to do now. What is it you don't like about your nose? Are you prepared for a botched rhinoplasty and needing a revision?

Obviously you need your parents approval and I'm guessing their help in paying because these surgeries are not cheap.

Which surgeons are you considering?

surfergirly222 10-18-2009 03:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by la_angel (Post 2660)
I agree with robyne and I also think you need to figure out your goals/reasons for the surgery to figure out if it makes sense to do now. What is it you don't like about your nose? Are you prepared for a botched rhinoplasty and needing a revision?

Obviously you need your parents approval and I'm guessing their help in paying because these surgeries are not cheap.

Which surgeons are you considering?

well, i dont feel prepared for a botched rhinoplasty lol that would be my worst nightmare., thats why im gonna be very picky about who i choose to do my surgery.

my nose is not that big actually. it just has a boxy pointy tip which makes the rest of my nose look big because its not super small. i have my moms consent but my dad doesnt get it.
my mom will help pay and then take a loan and i will have to pay off some of the loan.

i was considering Dr. Paul Nassiff at first, but then i decided i didnt like him so much. then i thought for sure Dr. Richard Ellenbogen was the surgeon for me, but then i read all these bad reviews about him and that changed my mind. Now, I am a bit confused but I'm leaning towards Dr. Clark in Sacramento, Dr. David Kim in Beverly Hills, Dr. Costanzo in Thousand Oaks, and Dr. Toriumi in chicago (but i dont see how that will be possible, because i live in CA).

my reasons for getting the surgery: -to be more confident (i have very low self esteem) so that i will be able to talk to people without being so self conscious. And i can be myself in front of people, instead of being really shy and timid.
- i know this wont solve all my problems, i dont expect that.
This is for myself!! i dont care what other people think of me! this surgery is so that I will feel good about myself and be more confident in my skin.:)

surfergirly222 10-18-2009 04:21 PM

im so sorry for you. thank you for informing me i greatly apprecciate it. well...you can look into ellenbogen, on his website he has very good revisions. a consultation cant hurt.

surfergirly222 10-18-2009 04:29 PM

Please everyone reply!! I need your opinions! I really apprecciate them!!

surfergirly222 10-18-2009 08:26 PM

40 views and only 3 replies!! come on people!! lol

BHPS Group 10-19-2009 02:55 PM

Advertisement

robyne00 10-19-2009 03:15 PM

First of all, you have to decide what you want exactly to achieve the results you desire. Due to your age as well as the candor you have expressed thus far in this thread, do not allow your surgeon to sway you to do something you do not desire. On the other hand, a qualified surgeon can help you to gain the look you are attempting to achieve.

You seem like you are wavering between too many surgeons as well. Do not go through with this procedure until you feel 100% comfortable and confident with your surgeon. If you haven't already asked, you might want to see the surgeons' "success stories". Also, look at former clients who have had the same surgery performed with similar types of "issues" as yours. Then you can be the ultimate judge if this person is the proper surgeon for you and your needs/requests.

As I pointed out in one of my earlier posts, professionally speaking, I would wait until you were 18 years of age simply for developmental purposes. la_angel pointed out, you will need parental permission, as you are a minor. Are your parents aware of you wanting a rhinoplasty? How do they feel about it.

My last point is again on a medically professional level. You claim you are doing this for you and not because of what others think, yet you are self-conscious and suffer from low self-esteem. That tells me you DO care what others think. These are very normal issues, especially for a young lady your age.

I am not trying to play devil's advocate. I am simply attempting to present you with information that might help you to make an educated and approproate decision.

No matter what you decide, I wish you all the best! :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.5.2 © 2010, Crawlability, Inc.