Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com

Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/)
-   Nose Surgery (Primary & Revision Rhinoplasty) (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/)
-   -   Need your aesthetic opinions (pics included) (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/1301-need-your-aesthetic-opinions-pics-included.html)

London 04-05-2010 07:30 PM

Need your aesthetic opinions (pics included)
 
2 Attachment(s)
Would you mind taking a look at my photos and giving me your recommendations? I've wanted to do something about my nose since I was a teenager. The things I dislike most about my nose include my huge nostrils and the the bulbous tip of my nose. If you look at the image taken from below, you can see that my nose is very asymmetrical. Do you think rhinoplasty is a good option for me? What changes would you recommend?

Mr. Z 04-06-2010 01:02 AM

I would not say your nose is bad aesthetically but I do get why you would want to improve it.

The septum is deviated so that is something functional to improve. For aesthetics it would be mostly the tip and nostrils because the bridge is good.

Narrowing the nostrils won't be a walk in the park. Not many surgeons do that well. The tip can be narrowed but the more that's done the bigger the nostrils could look. The skin on the tip looks thin and that can lead to visible cartilage grafts a year or two after an open rhino. This is why you would need a surgeon that really knows what he's doing.

la_angel 04-07-2010 12:05 PM

I definitely think you would benefit from rhinoplasty (as long as the outcome and healing go as planned). Really it's just a matter of addressing the nostrils. Unfortunately to do that, there will need to have some extensive tip work done... so please research your surgeons carefully!

robyne00 04-07-2010 05:18 PM

The tip and nostril size should both be addressed. PM me for recommendations if you wish.

London 04-07-2010 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robyne00 (Post 5981)
The tip and nostril size should both be addressed. PM me for recommendations if you wish.

What does PM mean?

pastypigeon 04-08-2010 12:33 AM

I think a reduction rhino for tip refinement / lip augmentation would make you look stunning :)

robyne00 04-08-2010 07:57 AM

PM is a private message.

London 04-08-2010 10:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robyne00 (Post 6002)
PM is a private message.

I'm would definitely like some recommendations. I'm kinda new to this site--how do I send you a private message?

London 04-08-2010 10:28 PM

Is quote reasonable?
 
I emailed my pics to a doctor who emailed back his recommendations for my revision. I am the first to admit when I need help--and I need all your help! What's your impression of the response I received:

Me:

I am interested in rhinoplasty because I am unsatisfied with the overall size and shape of my nose. Specifically, I would like to address the following: 1) nasal asymmetry (this is particularly apparent in the attached photo take from below), 2) extremely large nostrils, 3) large, off-center bulbous tip

Doctor:

....It seems to me that much of the prominence of the tip of your nose has to do with the width of the cartilages at the tip and also the way it protrudes forward away from your face farther than it needs to....The columella is the piece between the left and right nostrils, and it seems to hang down just a little bit extra in you....The three quarter view of a nose tends to show excess width to the tip cartilages, and in the three quarter modification I tried to demonstrate narrowing those cartilages as well as bringing the nose back toward your face...

The amount of asymmetry of your nose is actually fairly small, as asymmetries go. Certainly the base view of your nose makes it look much more asymmetric than even the frontal view. I don't particularly worry about the base view of the nose very much, because nobody gets to see you in that view, and the other views are so much more important. Usually, asymmetries like that can be partially corrected but not completely corrected, but I doubt that would stand in the way of a good result on your nose....Usually, when the nose is brought closer to the face and the tip is made smaller, the nostrils decrease in size in proportion to the other changes. Sometimes there is an additional procedure that we use to make the nostrils smaller, where we take a little bit of skin out of the nostril edge at the base of the nose. We don't have the same finesse in operating on nostrils that we can achieve in some of the other parts of the nose, but again I don't think that would stand in the way of a good result....

The cost for your primary rhinoplasty would be $7,000.00. There would be an additional $1,600.00 charge if you added a chin implant. To the surgery charge, you would have to add another $3,000.00 for the operating facility and anesthesia fees. There would be additional expenses in the range of $250.00 to $400.00 for such things as pre-operative blood tests, and some prescriptions and miscellaneous items.

robyne00 04-09-2010 04:28 PM

Email and online consults/morphs are great ... but unethical. A surgeon cannot truly evaluate a person unless it is well ... for lack of better verbiage ... in person! Meet with them!!! Ask to see before and afters pertinent to your situation, which are not always theirs. I know it is deceptive, but they are there to make $$$. This is one reason why you have to be very careful with the surgeon you choose.

I do agree with the doc's synopsis, but you would be better off seeing him or her in person, and seeing if you feel comfortable with this individual operating on you. Remember making the nostrils smaller can be a tricky procedure, that often requires revision(s). I agree that that tip and nostril size should be addressed as I stated prior in this post.

The price is within range.

Please let us know your next step.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.5.2 © 2010, Crawlability, Inc.