Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com

Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/)
-   Nose Surgery (Primary & Revision Rhinoplasty) (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/)
-   -   Dr Sam Naficy reviews (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/nose-surgery-primary-revision-rhinoplasty/1139-dr-sam-naficy-reviews.html)

Kellicious 02-19-2010 01:25 PM

Dr Sam Naficy reviews
 
Please post any reviews of Dr Sam Naficy in Bellevue, Washington. I am thinking about him for my first rhinoplasty to correct a deviated septum and take off the slight hump on my nose. I am going to be super careful in selecting my rhinoplasty surgeon!

robyne00 02-19-2010 07:16 PM

I do not like the fact that this particular surgeon "specializes" in almost everything. Major red flag as I always say, however, some of his work looks very good.

prodigiousflames 02-20-2010 11:57 PM

I definitely have to disagree that a surgeon must specialize in noses to do well, can think of a few surgeons here in CA who confirm that (grigoryants, kim...) however the more rhinos they've done the better (at least 1000+). I'm also intrigued by Naficy and if you're looking for more options Portuese has produced a couple happy patients on MMH and he is also from the same area ( believe he's also more affordable )

robyne00 02-21-2010 08:55 AM

Rhinoplasty is a PS procedure that many surgeons perform horribly. One must be extremely careful about who does their rhinoplasty, as very often revisions are required due to the approach, technique, and lack of expertise on the part of the surgeon.

What I stated in my earlier post in this thread about surgeons specializing in too many surgeries being a red flag simply means, one can only be an "expert" at so many things. As more and more procedures come to light, surgeons will get increasingly greedy, and try to do as many PS procedures as they can. A good surgeon knows his or her limitations, and sticks to what he or she excels at.

It is good to have a surgeon who has a great deal of experience, however, if the surgeon has an overly aggressive approach, does not take your input into consideration, makes you feel uncomfortable, utilizes a "cookie cutter" approach to PS, or seems more concerned with the financial aspects of the situation, his or her experience takes a backseat in my opinion.

If "prodigiousflames" is mentioning William Portuese, he is based out of Washington. He is an otolaryngologist and also performs head and neck surgery. He also branched out into facial PS. He uses a "cookie cutter" approach. I imagine his prices would be cheaper, but this is your face we are talking about. Sometimes it is better to pay more, although 100% satisfaction can never be guaranteed.

prodigiousflames 02-21-2010 09:50 AM

Yes Portuese practices in Washington which is one reason why I recommended him in this thread and he received his training at the Lasky Clinic. I've seen pictures of his patients on MMH postop and they look natural and gorgeous, feel free to look for yourself. It doesn't make a difference to me if you use him or not I have nothing to gain from it but based on the results I've seen he may be worth a consult. I believe that there are a lot of great surgeons that fly under the radar just because they don't have the publicity and marketing to blow up into internet surgeons (Toriumi, Nassif)

robyne00 02-21-2010 09:59 AM

I agree with "prodigiousflames" that there are many good surgeons that do "fly under the radar" and in addition do not get the credit they deserve. I have seen Portuese's work and like I said, I do not like his "cookie cutter" approach. That is simply my opinion. On the other hand, I was extremely impressed with some of Nacify's work. I would like to see more. Please note, I have no affiliation with either of these surgeons.

asp77 07-19-2010 09:29 PM

Any new updates on Naficy?
 
I had a consult with dr Naficy. My primary was done by a different LA surgeon who also did a revision that he made a fairly obvious mistake on (incorrectly identified the bump on the side as from upper lateral cartilage while it was really caused by a curled greater alar cartilage) which made the whole thing look even worse. I consulted with dr Portuese and dr Naficy they both identified the problem as due to greater alar correctly. Seems like a fairly obvious thing but turns out mistakes like that are possible even by highly reputable doctors. Anyhow when I was talking to dr Naficy i got a good impression. I was trying to get into as much detail as possible on the specifics of the approach they would use and his approach seemed to make the most sense. I was looking for more info on dr. Naficy or any other suggestions for a good surgeon.. that doesn't make mistakes.. I'm male btw so someone who has a good aesthetic not just for females

selina 08-07-2010 10:43 PM

Dr. Naficy is extremely artistic, greatly talented, well informed, and a quite friendly surgeon. I am 9 days post op septorhinoplasty with Dr. Naficy. I researched Seattle/Bellevue area doctors for 5 years before I decided to go with him. His certifications are top notch. He doesn't per se "specialize" in many things as previously stated. He is a "FACIAL" plastic surgeon that has received numerous awards and written a much commended and respected book specifically on Rhinoplasty and Septoplasty surgeries.

I, for one, recommend him 100%. He is honest about what he believes can be done/adjusted/fixed without pushing frivolous 'extras' on you to up his dollar intake. He may be a bit pricier than others in the area, but I was happy to pay for his expertise and education when it came to the center point of my face.

He not only has numerous pictures of his previous patients, but they are from every view possible. Unlike many other area doctors that only showed profile and 3/4 views, Naficy has profile, front, and 3/4 views from both sides. He doesn't seem to be hiding anything, and every person's nose is just right for him/her...not cookie cutter like so many other surgeons.

Okay, I'm off my soap box ;) I am just very impressed by him and though I am still extremely swollen, I know I definitely got my money's worth after choosing Dr. Naficy. He was definitely worth the research, money saving, and wait ;)

prodigiousflames 08-08-2010 10:24 AM

selina ive only seen one womans results after seeing Naficy and she looked great, her nose really fit her face. Would you by chance be willing to share photos with me? Thanks a lot. BTW did you also consult with Portuese since hes in the area?

selina 08-27-2010 08:57 AM

I forgot about this post for a while :) I am exactly 1-month post op today. I am scheduled at 7 weeks post op to get steroid injections as I have very thick skin, and my tip is still quite swollen. I am happy with the results so far although I have some uneven swelling (right is more swollen than left) at the nostrils, etc. However, that is completely normal.

I didn't really take "before" pictures of myself, but I have a couple I can post. The newer ones are from yesterday. I definitely have a strong chin, cheek bones, etc., so I think when all is said and done, especially after the injections, I will be quite pleased.

Also, I DID consult with Portuese a few years ago and decided not to go with him because he had almost no frontal views of his patients (like 5 out of 30 or so pics) and they were mostly all the same nose on every face. Plus, I had a big English nose which was already thin and the first thing he told me was that he wanted to "thin" out my bridge, etc....No way!

Note: I had a lot of skin at the tip, a super deviated septum, large hump, and when I smiled, you could totally see my gums.

I don't have time nor could I find any real "profile" pics...these are all attachments. The ones with the shower curtain in the back are from yesterday ;) I'm a dork and took these for a couple friends who wanted to see me. I still have dark undereye circles and I took them from the side mostly because of the uneven swelling from the front. I definitely don't have any gums showing anymore when I smile though! AND, I love the tip...I just cannot wait until the swelling is all gone.

Sorry for the monstrous book I just wrote ;)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.5.2 © 2010, Crawlability, Inc.