Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com

Plastic Surgery Forum & Message Board at PlasticSurgerySpot.com (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/)
-   Cheek Implants, Mid-Face Implants (Malar, Sub-Malar) (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/cheek-implants-mid-face-implants-malar-sub-malar/)
-   -   Differing Opinions on What I Need -- Opinions (http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/cheek-implants-mid-face-implants-malar-sub-malar/1329-differing-opinions-what-i-need-opinions.html)

crrogers22 04-15-2010 10:46 PM

Differing Opinions on What I Need -- Opinions
 
I have consulted two separate plastic surgeons (one whom I have had previous surgery from) regarding cheek implants (malar vs. submalar) and have receive two very different opinions on what would make me look better. I am worried about this and want to make sure I get the right surgery. I figure if I get some opinions on the board I can use these to direct the conversation with these two surgeons. What do all of you think?

Thanks in advance

robyne00 04-16-2010 10:32 AM

Welcome to the forum!!! :)

From the picture you have provided it does not appear to me that you need cheek implants. Maybe a profile pic would reveal the need perhaps? Did you decide that you needed cheek implants or did someone tell you that you should get them? There are no visible hollows in your face, so if you were to get them, I would suggest malar.

Be very careful if you do opt for this procedure. Make sure the surgeon does not go too big, which is a very common problem.

crrogers22 04-16-2010 05:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robyne00 (Post 6153)
Welcome to the forum!!! :)

From the picture you have provided it does not appear to me that you need cheek implants. Maybe a profile pic would reveal the need perhaps? Did you decide that you needed cheek implants or did someone tell you that you should get them? There are no visible hollows in your face, so if you were to get them, I would suggest malar.

Be very careful if you do opt for this procedure. Make sure the surgeon does not go too big, which is a very common problem.

yes, 2 docs have told me so. Are there any cheek implant surgeons with better reputations than others, esp for men?

btw, thank you for your reply

robyne00 04-16-2010 05:52 PM

I can give you recommendations, however, 2 doctors told you so? How do you feel? Why do you think you need them? What deficit is present?

crrogers22 04-16-2010 10:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robyne00 (Post 6165)
I can give you recommendations, however, 2 doctors told you so? How do you feel? Why do you think you need them? What deficit is present?

Hello -

Yes, two separate doctors have told me I should consider cheek implants. One of these was a doctor who performed a rhinoplasty and chin augemtation.

Both said that my cheek bones were not prominent enough and, as a result, I have severe nasal labial folds, esp considering I am only 30 years of age.

I feel the same way -- when I see my mid-face, it just appears weak and gaunt.

So you mentioned that you may have some names of eminent plastic surgeons who specialize in cheek implants., especially for men. Would you mind sharing? So far I have look @ dr eppley. However, I heard (true or not) that he is a dentist who re-specialized.

robyne00 04-17-2010 06:55 AM

Maybe if you post a pic where you are smiling, a profile pic, or any other pic, because I do not see anything gaunt about your face!!! Your cheeks are ever present in the photo, but are not well defined. Gaunt would be an exaggeration based upon the pic you provided. I do not see any evidence of obvious nasolabial folds either.

Of course surgeons are going to encourage you to get additional procedures for obvious reasons. It is unfortunate that many docs are so unethical nowadays and will do anything for the almighty dollar.

Eppley was a dentist originally, which should not turn you off completely and/or immediately. I have seen some of his work, and I was not impressed. I have not seen any post op cheeks implants he has done on men, but I saw a woman he did cheek implants on and the results were not very favorable.

Feel free to PM me for recommendations.

crrogers22 04-17-2010 04:02 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here you go

robyne00 04-18-2010 10:28 AM

From the second pic you posted, I can see what your concern is. ;)

I would go with malar.

robyne00 04-18-2010 10:58 AM

Some info about Eppley (and it's not good) can be found in the link below, which is a thread from this site:

http://www.plasticsurgeryspot.com/fa...aint-case.html

I know it's in the facelift portion of the forum, but it is about him being highly unethical. I cannot vouch for the accuracy of the information personally or professionally.

la_angel 04-18-2010 09:52 PM

Some very small cheek implants (malar) should help prop up the sagging tissue. I would only recommend going with the smallest size available in your case.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.5.2 © 2010, Crawlability, Inc.